Quilters Connecting Quilt

October 9, 2009 at 10:53 am 29 comments

scrapquilt

Thanks again Amy, for hosting the Bloggers Quilt Festival!

I’m writing about my Scrappy Squares quilt because it made me feel connected to the online quilting world. I saw this quilt on Flickr and fell in love. It was a match made in heaven because I have a hard time throwing away even the smallest pieces of fabric. Thus my first scrap quilt was born. I made up the pattern myself and it had a few kinks along the way.

Next, Liza from Quiltifications decided to make it in black and white along with her friend Beth doing a brown and teal colorway. Their two quilts are here. Liza worked up the design in EQ and eliminated the annoying y-seam problem that I created for myself.

Then Lisa emailed me and asked about the pattern. Liza was kind enough to pass it on and Lisa made another terrific quilt.

I am so encouraged and inspired by the online quilting community. I’m continually amazed by the support and talent of the people out there. It’s nice when we can connect a little bit more. Thanks to all of you. Now off to the festival for me!

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts. Tags: , , , .

It’s A Piece of Cake Playing with Red, White and Black

29 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chase  |  October 9, 2009 at 11:08 am

    I LOVE your quilt! I am always hesitate to try log cabinet blocks.

  • 2. Zonnah  |  October 9, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    It is beautiful!

  • 3. tirane93  |  October 10, 2009 at 9:10 am

    wow, this is just a “keeps on giving” kind of pattern, isn’t it! terrific!

  • 4. Kelli  |  October 10, 2009 at 9:37 am

    So cool!

  • 5. carol  |  October 10, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    So, let me ask you….did you ever publish the pattern? I would LOVE to make one like it!! I even have the colors for it in my head already. Let me know if we can work something out…please!! I love it!!

  • 6. hetty  |  October 10, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    That is beautiful! I love your fabrics. Thanks for sharing!

  • 7. Katie B  |  October 10, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    very cool scrappy quilt! Well done!

  • 8. Roz  |  October 10, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    I like it! I made a sort of similar quilt some time ago

  • 9. Marge  |  October 11, 2009 at 9:23 am

    I’ve seen both Liza and Beth’s quilts on line, how nice to see the quilt that inspired them to make theirs. And while I do like their quilts a lot, yours speaks to me even more, because it is truly an original. I love the scrappiness and the random sections. Even if those corners and what you call Y seams gave you trouble, look at your end results! Great job! Thank you for sharing.

  • 10. Rene'  |  October 11, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    What a cool quilt. I love that it is made with scraps and I like the different size squares. Your colors are so cheery. Thanks for sharing.

  • 11. Rhondi  |  October 11, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    I like that you made the pattern yourself. I love the total look, very colorful!

  • 12. Aimee  |  October 12, 2009 at 4:47 am

    I love it and I love the pattern!

  • 13. penny g  |  October 12, 2009 at 6:54 am

    Love the quilt and feeling connected is great.

  • 14. Kit  |  October 12, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    I love scrappy quilts! Thanks for showing us yours. :)

  • 15. becca  |  October 12, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    i love this quilt!! great story too

  • 16. Leslie  |  October 12, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    this is so fun!!! i love the pattern

  • 17. Ruth Anne  |  October 13, 2009 at 9:25 am

    What a nice quilt. I can relate to your comment about not being able to throw away even the smallest piece of fabric. You did a great job incorporating your pieces.

  • 18. Geertrude  |  October 13, 2009 at 11:24 am

    That’s a beautiful quilt! And a great use of scraps indeed.

  • 19. Anna( quiltmom)  |  October 13, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    What a great pattern- it is very fun and like others, would love to see the pattern. Did you publish it or do a tutorial? It is a really fun pattern and I like how it looks so different with the different color combos.
    Thanks for sharing your beautiful quilt. Enjoy the wonderful show.
    Warmest regards,
    Anna

  • 20. Michelle  |  October 14, 2009 at 10:29 am

    It is beautiful.

  • 21. Jocelyn  |  October 14, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Amazing quilt! I love the colors. I’m trying to work my way through the quilt festival. So many lovely quilts to look at!

  • 22. jacquie  |  October 14, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    i love the story behind your quilt, peg. isn’t that one of the best reasons to blog. i don’t have any friends who quilt…this online community are my quilting friends. great quilt!

  • 23. Sara  |  November 5, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    This is a super cool quilt! I am the same way with my scraps…and I need to make something to use them up! Thanks for sharing!

  • 24. Casey  |  November 18, 2009 at 11:53 am

    It’s lovely. I love the colors

  • 25. Vicki  |  December 29, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    beautiful. I’d love to make one like it someday too.

  • [...] 94. Peg [...]

  • 27. Quilt Festival – Fall 2009 » Amy's Creative Side  |  July 25, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    [...] Holly 88. Melissa Jones 89. Heather 90. Sandy Quilts 91. Nikki 92. stephanie allgood 93. Natima 94. Peg 95. susan mckey 96. Applique Today 97. Pat T, 98. ~Michelle’s Musings~ 99. Karen 100. [...]

  • [...] a needle to bury the knot. It’s a flawless finish. 4. What was your inspiration for your Quilt Festival quilt? My inspiration for the QF quilt was a quilt I saw on Flickr. It was oneof the first scrappy quilts [...]

  • 29. Quilt Festival – Fall 2009 | Amy's Creative Side  |  August 26, 2010 at 7:05 am

    [...] Holly 88. Melissa Jones 89. Heather 90. Sandy Quilts 91. Nikki 92. stephanie allgood 93. Natima 94. Peg 95. susan mckey 96. Applique Today 97. Pat T, 98. ~Michelle’s Musings~ 99. Karen 100. [...]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Recent Posts

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

