Bloggers Quilt Festival

May 21, 2010 at 6:33 am 22 comments

This quilt features Laura Gunn’s Lantern Bloom fabrics and warm, rich Kona solids. I first fell in love with the Lantern Bloom line because of the jewel tone colors, painterly quality and wonderful design. I chose four fabrics and wanted to find a way to highlight both the large scale designs as well as the small organic prints. Solids seemed like a great choice to show off both. I chose three warm browns in Kona solids – coffee, brown and cinnamon – for most of the blocks but added some pop with thin strips of berry and cyan. After the main blocks were done, everything else followed the same improvisational path. In other words, how much of each fabric did I have left to make borders and a back. I think I pieced almost every bit of these fabrics, wonky as all get out, before all was said and done. The quilting was stippled with a variegated thread that ran from eggplant to rust (a happy find in my thread bin from an earlier project).

Thanks for visiting my blog and enjoy the rest of the festival! Be sure to check out my Sew Fresh business partners’ house quilts for her daughter, they’re drop dead gorgeous!

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts, sewing, stuff. Tags: , , , , , , .

Another Amazing Quilting Retreat Sew Fast Pillow Project

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristina  |  May 21, 2010 at 7:17 am

    great work, well done! beautiful colours, superb quilting, I love it.
    Kristina

  • 2. Angie  |  May 21, 2010 at 7:17 am

    I like what you did with these fabrics.

  • 3. Jo Avery  |  May 21, 2010 at 8:31 am

    Gorgeous quilt – love the fabrics!

  • 4. daisysewing  |  May 21, 2010 at 10:18 am

    I love this quilt! The colors are really rich and I love the way you pieced the backing.

  • 5. Carol at Serendipity  |  May 21, 2010 at 5:39 pm

    I love this fabric! What a beautiful job you did.

    Carol

  • 6. Carol Hansen  |  May 21, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    Very interesting fabric, like what you did with them.

  • 7. Sue H.  |  May 21, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    I’ve not seen these Lantern Bloom fabrics before . . . but I think I’m off to check them out!

    Thanks so much for sharing. Regards, Sue

  • 8. Marika  |  May 22, 2010 at 12:44 am

    Wonderful beautiful work !

  • 9. Jocelyn  |  May 22, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    What an awesome quilt!

  • 10. sewshesews  |  May 23, 2010 at 9:12 am

    Gorgeous! I love Laura’s fabrics, they are lovely :) Thanks for sharing!

  • 11. Leslie  |  May 23, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    very pretty

  • 12. Mary  |  May 23, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Wow! This is a knockout. Great colors.

  • 13. Stephanie  |  May 24, 2010 at 11:27 am

    Lovely quilt! I really like the fabrics you chose.

  • 14. Chancy  |  May 24, 2010 at 6:50 pm

    I love that line of fabrics too but have never picked any up because I couldn’t think of how to showcase it. You did a fabulous job!

  • 15. Kelli  |  May 25, 2010 at 12:28 am

    gorgeous quilt. love the fabrics!

  • 16. Jo Avery  |  May 27, 2010 at 11:18 am

    What a great quilt – love your fabric choices!

  • 17. Randi  |  May 27, 2010 at 7:56 pm

    Love the colors & fabric.

  • 18. American Quilter's Society  |  May 28, 2010 at 8:48 am

    Great work! Can’t wait to read more from you.

    http://www.aqsquiltnews.blogspot.com

  • 19. eileen  |  May 30, 2010 at 4:00 am

    lovely colors and like the design a lot, interesting inner border and outer one with inserts! thanks for sharing it

  • 20. Angie  |  June 1, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    I saw this fabric in my local fabric store — it is great to see it in a quilt! It is such a beautiful color combination!

  • [...] 85. Sujata @ The Root Connection 86. Angela – My Three Sons 87. Jonquils and Ladybugs 88. Peg at Ivy Arts 89. Be13cca at Sew Fresh Fabrics 90. Happy Cottage Quilter 91. Quiltluver-Karen 92. Jennifer ~ That [...]

  • [...] Rules85. Sujata @ The Root Connection86. Angela – My Three Sons87. Jonquils and Ladybugs88. Peg at Ivy Arts89. Be13cca at Sew Fresh Fabrics90. Happy Cottage Quilter91. Quiltluver-Karen92. Jennifer ~ That [...]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Recent Posts

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

