How much is too much?

June 13, 2010 at 8:03 pm 4 comments

Is it wrong to have so much fabric that you can, on any given Sunday, find a dozen coordinating fabrics, cut off a couple of strips of each, then cut and sew 54 blocks for a lap quilt? Is that too much fabric or just enough? Even though I didn’t even make a dent in my stash and out popped a quilt top, I’m going with just enough. How bad would it be to get half way through only to not have what you need to complete a project. You’re with me, right?

Those of you who read this blog know that I’m not a fan of pastel baby quilts. I’m pretty much against them, in fact. This is for a new baby boy. The forest critter fabric is from Amy Schimler and it pairs nicely with some Michael Miller hedgehogs, Joel Dewberry chestnuts and a couple of Eric Carle dots and odd scraps thrown in for good measure. Super simple blocks but not bad for any given Sunday afternoon.

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts, sewing. Tags: , , , , .

Tufted Tweets Giveaway! There and Back again

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Liz  |  June 13, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    If having that much fabric is wrong, I don’t want to be right. ;-)

    Love the fabrics! I agree, I’d rather have fun with a baby quilt than always stick to boring pastels.

  • 2. Meaghan  |  June 14, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    I think it’s great to have so many great fabrics on hand! Plus, I’ve noticed in my stash that I tend to be drawn towards certain color schemes so it’s easier to find things that coordinate. I’m a new follower of your blog – I’m glad I found it!

  • 3. becca  |  June 14, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    LOVE IT!! and as to the fabric issue…………need I say anything?

  • 4. Meredith  |  July 13, 2010 at 8:15 am

    We love the quilt and all of the coordinating fabrics as well! It looks great in our living room! Thanks, Peg! You’re the best! I just stare at it and love that I can’t find a pattern or a rhyme or reason to the squares and fabrics! And my favorite is the olive green cluster in the bottom left! So unexpected!
    Thanks again, Dear Friend! I hope we have another baby!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Recent Posts

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

