Summer Wrap-up

September 8, 2010 at 10:42 am 1 comment

And then the summer was gone. While I’m totally down with Blogging without Obligation, I’ve just been neglectful this summer. My time management skills just melted in the heat. The humid, oppressive, stagnant atmosphere that characterized the majority of the summer for me. I don’t do well in humidity. I began to feel like a mushroom trying to seek solace in one of the two rooms in our house that have air conditioning. Neither room affords any productivity at all. (Unless you classify watching Phineas & Ferb with the boys as productive.)

Nearly no sewing was done and now I have 6 quilts to finish in the next 6 weeks, for my Guild show, for their charity drive, for the gallery and two for the boys. Thankfully the cooler air is on its way back. I did finish the cowboy quilt top for the small boy. (Still haven’t figured out the fish-eye thing that distorts all my pictures, grr.) I sashed the prints in a denim colored Kaffe shot cotton. I’m not a huge fan of this shot cotton, it’s very thin and stretchy, but the dungaree look was exactly what I was going for.

Nearly no cooking and very little bread baking, save simple grilling (which is often the best choice in summer anyway). Last week I made some Potato Bread with leftover mashed potatoes and yesterday I did try a standout dish from the Smitten Kitchen, Blue Cheese and Red Potato Tart. So good!!

So lastly, dear readers (if there are any of you left after my hiatus) is that I’m folding up this blog after over 3 years and will now post only to our Sew Fresh Blog. I need to whittle down my to-do list and one blog is plenty. I hope you join me there for more fabric, food and fancy!

Many thanks.

Peg

Entry filed under: fabric, food, quilting, quilts, sewing, stuff. Tags: .

There and Back again I’ve moved over here now…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. becca  |  April 1, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    love the little boy’s quilt

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Recent Posts

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

