Go Etsy Orange!

July 6, 2007 at 2:41 pm 3 comments

I’m a new shopkeeper in the Etsy universe and it’s amazing. Etsy is a shopping wonderland of handmade items sold by the artists themselves. There are so many talented artists and crafts people that I go on sensory overload looking at all the wonderful work. So much eye candy that it even makes my sweet tooth hurt, ouch. And that’s saying something. I’ve joined a group for Etsy artists who blog. (A little presumptuous considering I’ve only got one post to my humble little blog. But hey, you’ve got to start somewhere.) It’s an “Orange” theme week for the Etsy bloggers. An Ode to Orange, if you will. I took a peek at my favorites and found a lovely little clutch purse that is mighty tempting.

Orange is so perfectly summery and vibrant. It made me think of a scarf I bought a couple of years ago at a local gallery, in the summertime I’m fairly certain. It’s a hand-painted silk scarf with the most amazing colors…can you see where I’m going here?

Ok, so here’s the problem. I love the scarf. I never wear it. I even bought two bright tee shirts, one orange and one yellow for the sole purpose of creating an ensemble. I just haven’t been able to pull it off. I’ve tried it in my hair, around my neck and as a belt. I’m just lousy at accessorizing. I’m partly blaming my kids. They’re small, they climb on me, they pull at things. Accessorizing isn’t just difficult, it’s downright dangerous. Alas, someday I’ll be able to wear dangly earrings again. Then I can visit all the Etsy jewelry shops….

Thanks, Groovyvinyl for the orange-y inspiration.

Entry filed under: fabric. Tags: , , .

Late to the party Fabric Addiction can’t be wrong, can it?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  July 6, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    I had to laugh about your scarf–I did the same thing. I got this beautiful scarf but never wore it! Finally, one day I did–I put it in my hair like a headband, with the tails hanging down my back from underneath my hair–so cute! And I got a lot of compliments too. Go ahead, wear your scarf–give the kids something to swing from.
    Smiles, Karen

  • 2. corline  |  July 6, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    I enjoyed reading your “orange” story. You will find that you will probably become addicted to blogging! corline

  • 3. mktsharetoni  |  September 8, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    Christine has also gone through several Orange phases. first is was quilting and now of course beads.

    I have a similar conflict with Orange as well. While I find it eye catching frequently, I don’t choose it to wear. Do do do do Do do do do! “Hard tellin’ not knowin'”, as they say in Maine.

    Check out chrissybeads on Etsy for Orange swirl beads.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


