Dr. Atkins, avert your eyes

July 11, 2007 at 5:03 pm 8 comments

(Don’t you wish blogs came with a Scratch & Sniff feature?)

It started with a loaf of Sourdough bread from Trader Joe’s a couple of months ago. I fell in love with sourdough when I lived in the San Francisco Bay area years ago. Tangy, chewy and delicious. Yummy. But oh so hard to find in my native New England. The Trader Joe’s loaf was fine to be sure but the store was just not in my usual travels. What’s a girl to do? Well a crafty, do-it-yourself girl does just that. I would make my own sourdough bread. This, my friends, brings us to the mysterious “sourdough starter”…. an odd smelling, bubbly thick goo (see below) that begins the journey of every good loaf. The best starters are handed down for generations, probably from the Forty-Niners themselves. Not being the beneficiary of such a concoction, I decided to make my own. So many different ways but ultimately you take flour and water or milk, let it get all funky and fermented and viola! You have your very own sourdough starter pet. I say pet because it needs regular care and feeding or it will die. It’s actually getting better and better as it develops over the months. Who knew what I was signing myself up for?

So we have homemade bread in our house now. And now I’m in love with that. It tastes better, it toasts better. (Don’t even get me going, I think I could write a soliloquy on toast alone. Maybe later.) I think I’ve bought only one loaf of bread from the store in the last 4 or 5 months. I called it my Amish winter. All I wanted to do was make bread and quilts. At home with my two young boys, there are days where the to-do list doesn’t get any shorter at all. But at least if I made a couple of loaves of bread, I could feel a sense of accomplishment. And I need that feeling sometimes. So it’s all win, win, win. Good food, good for the family, good for me. And tasty too. Just don’t talk to me about carbs.

Entry filed under: baking, food, stuff. Tags: , , , .

Fabric Addiction can’t be wrong, can it? The Least I Could Do

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen  |  July 12, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    They’re gorgeous!! Mmmmm…I can almost smell the fresh baked bread. *drool*
    Smiles, Karen

  • 2. Marissa  |  July 13, 2007 at 12:28 am

    HI! I used to make sourdough bread on a weekly basis and it was divine. I managed to keep the starter alive and funky in a good way for around four months, then it died a horrible horrible death. I keep meaning to get back into bread baking, but no more sourdough for me. Maybe french?

    I love bread.

    (found you through the comment on my feature. Thank you!)

  • 3. ivyarts  |  July 13, 2007 at 6:41 am

    Marissa, Now you’ve got me worried about what a horrible, horrible death would entail. Egads.

    I can give you a cup of my (as of yet) tame starter, we’re nearly neighbors, I’m north of Boston.

    Thanks for visiting my new blog. I’ve bookmarked yours.

    Peg

  • 4. Christine  |  July 13, 2007 at 9:21 am

    Hi Peg,

    The death of a starter is a sad thing- I had one die in Napa. Don’t mention it to Toni.

    You’re making me think about quilting again. I gave away a big box of fabrics before we moved out of Napa. My favorite place to shop for fabric was the Crate and Barrell outlet in Kittery. They used to sell cut pieces by the pound but its $4 or $5/yd which isn’t bad. It’s a little heavier than “calicos” but I used them together. The other wonderful place is Keepsake Quilting in NH. They have a most awesome sale on the 4th of July. Maybe next year we’ll plan to be in New England to go with you.

    Christine

  • 5. Claire  |  July 13, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    Mmmm…home baked bread!
    That reminds me- I have to feed my sourdough starter! i hope I haven’t killed it (again). It was given to me by a friend- it’s over 10 years old.

  • 6. Marissa  |  July 13, 2007 at 9:06 pm

    Uhm, it turned black. Somehow I didn’t think black starter would make good bread!

    I would love some of your starter but I have really bad pregnancy mush brain and fear that I would kill it fast!

  • 7. ivyarts  |  July 14, 2007 at 8:33 am

    I suppose it would be bad form to call it pumpernickel and serve it anyway….

  • 8. Gabreial  |  July 27, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    Now I want a starter! Sounds so yummy!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


