Summer Breeze

July 18, 2007 at 12:49 pm Leave a comment

Do you want the good first or the bad? Ok, good first. Summer breeze does make me feel fine. Almost better than the scent of flowers, I love the fragrant perfume of herbs. I love our little herb garden.

Basil, oregano, thyme, rosemary, chives, parsley, sage, peppermint and cilantro. Another call for a scratch and sniff blog. Honestly, I must give all the credit for the upkeep to my husband. He waters it when things get dry. I occasionally go out with our oldest boy who loves using his safety scissors to trim off any of the tops that threaten to flower and to pick something we might need for dinner. But we weren’t diligent enough early on. We’ve lost my favorite… the cilantro. It grew like wildfire then went to seed before we could stop it. I’m so sad about it. I tried trimming it down in hopes it would come back (see sad picture, right). But alas, just a few spindles and more flowers. I love cilantro, the unmistakable spark it adds to dishes. And I love the fragrance even more. I swear, if they had a perfume that smelled like cilantro, I’d wear it. As far as the rest of the herbs, we haven’t begun to use to their potential this year. Last year we were exploring sage. Here’s a great recipe. A bit time consuming and makes a ton but very tasty. We haven’t done anything at all with the mint which is new for us this year. Maybe a mojito? I know I’m bucking the trend but I don’t think they’re all that special. Have to poke around for a few more recipes.

Ok, I know it seems a shame to interject this now but here’s the flip side. Hot summer breezes can also bring some not so pleasant smells. You know, the garbage that has to be taken out TONIGHT and can’t wait until morning. But right now there’s something funky in our downstairs bathroom. It also connects the storage space under the stairs so who knows what may lurk therein. It smells like something small and dead. I think dead things are my husband’s realm. That and big spiders. I’m pretty sure it was in our wedding vows. I’ve so far avoided the area but I may have to pull out the flashlight and investigate. If it’s something dead, I’ll bring it up with the proper party. (Thanks, love.)

Entry filed under: food, stuff. Tags: , , .

A Little Flora Why Mommy? Why?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


