Why Mommy? Why?

July 21, 2007 at 10:01 am 6 comments

My darling three year old boy has entered the why phase. He must say it (interject some very large number here) times a day. Good grief. I’m running out of things to say because his logic and listening skills do not equal that of his curiosity. I made a rule to explain things just three times then I won’t talk about it any more. Mean mom? Yup, I was afraid of that. He doesn’t really want the answer, he just wants to ask the question. I admit I’m not prepared for this. I’ve mastered bathing, burping and breastfeeding but I’m baffled by this one. This should be in parenting classes…. “How to handle Why? in three sentences or less” or “Why? for Dummies“.

This is a conversation in the car a few days ago… Why is the farmer in the dell? What’s a dell? Why don’t we have a dell?

Huh?

If he starts asking about Pop Goes the Weasel I’m in serious trouble. Help.

Entry filed under: stuff. Tags: , .

Summer Breeze Trying to Accessorize

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Megan  |  July 21, 2007 at 5:24 pm

    Hehe, I have a seven year old cousin who *just* grew out of the “Why?” stage. ; )

  • 2. Colleen  |  July 22, 2007 at 10:21 am

    I know that you don’t want to hear this but my 17year old STILL says why to questions that I STILL can’t answer! Good luck…best advice I can give is meditate on the word Patience and hope that answers will come!

  • 3. ivyarts  |  July 22, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    Thanks Colleen. I know this phase is not a passing one. I’ll just have to keep my reference materials handy. At least one good thing about having kids now is that I can Google for the answers.

    P.S. A dell is a “wooded valley”.

  • 4. Colleen  |  July 23, 2007 at 1:38 pm

    Wish that I could Google to find out how I can keep the refrigerator filled with a 17 year old and a 19 year old (turning 20 tomorrow!)
    home for the summer! My car is on automatic pilot to go to the grocery store as soon as it leaves the driveway! …with of course a stop at the bank on the way. It’s incredible how much they eat in one day!! And when the food is gone they both say “Why isn’t there ever any food in this house?”. Told you they STILL say “Why”!!….

  • 5. ivyarts  |  July 23, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    Hope my guys get scholarships for college. I had better start saving for the grocery bill. Yikes!

  • 6. Mel  |  July 27, 2007 at 8:47 am

    Hi Peg – great blog. Long time reader, first time commenter.
    I get a kick out of the “why” stories and many other dleights your children share. But then it hits me…..my boy is only 9 months behind your oldest and soon I’ll be in your shoes. So please, be a love and figure this one out. You’ve always had more patience than I and you know you’ll be the first I call. Why? Because you’re you.
    BTW – your sourdough bread was fantastic. In your spare time, you should get your harvest and baked goods to the Topsfield Fair on Farmer Market Saturdays. I’d buy plenty (especially if something were to have chocolate in it). Peace out.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


