Lowell Quilt Festival

August 7, 2007 at 1:33 pm 2 comments

I went to the Lowell Quilt Festival this past weekend and was totally overwhelmed. It was the first quilt show that I had ever been to and didn’t really know what to expect. My rookie mistake was that I started in the venue that had most of the vendors and given my fabric addiction, I started to hyperventilate a bit right off the bat. I made my way over to some display quilts to try to catch my breath. Then I saw my quilt teacher who is the outreach director for the New England Quilt Museum. Because I didn’t have a lot of time, she suggested I make my way over to the Auditorium where the juried show was.

Wow, was I ever blown away. Traditional, non-traditional. Machine quilted, hand quilted. So much work, creativity and skill. I’ve never been one to focus on the “quilting” of quilts. I’m more of an “I like to play with the pretty fabric” kind of girl. But even quilts and styles that don’t necessarily resonate with me, I began to appreciate for their workmanship. In addition to the wall quilts, was a display from the Journal Quilt Project. I found these small gems really inspiring. It was a real creative kickstart to see so many different techniques and ways to use fabric. I went to the lobby to buy the book and they had sold the last one. Ahhh. Have to keep looking.

I’m really excited about the quilt I’m working on now though I can’t post any pictures yet because it’s a gift and therefore a surprise. Hope to post that one someday soon. Well, since I feel like this post needs some eye candy, here’s a fairly recent quilt I made for my older son, the animal lover.

Entry filed under: fabric, quilts. Tags: , .

An Anonymous Thank You Three’s a Charm

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ana  |  August 7, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    I love your choice of colors, my kids would love to have that on their beds! The size of the blocks would help make this quilt in a quick way. Thanks for sharing with us.

  • 2. ivyarts  |  August 7, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    Ana,
    I chose the focus fabric with my son in mind and thankfully it lent itself to a big block for ease of construction. Add a simple strip nine patch and away we go. Thanks for visiting.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


