Bread Again

August 15, 2007 at 9:48 am 2 comments

I hate to say it but I think Alton Brown has done me wrong. It sounds wrong even saying that because I love Alton Brown. Truly, I do. (No really, I’m absolutely serious). Anyway, we’ve always got a few episodes of Good Eats on TiVO and I sat down to Dr. Strangeloaf the other night. Thought I could pick up a few tips for the sourdough. It’s been a little dense lately. Look what happened!

Like a popover gone wrong. It stuck coming out of one pan and I could barely get the overhang out of the other. Truthfully, it’s not all Alton’s fault. It’s not like I followed his recipe to the letter (or at all really). Just took a few hints for rising and kneading. It looked like all would be well. It had a great first rise. It was the second that was too vigorous and went poof, deflated over the sides.

On the plus side, I’m really excited that I finally got a wooden bowl for rising the dough. I picked that one up from here. And last but not least, it’s a good thing most mistakes are edible. The texture is pretty good actually. Good Eats everybody!

Entry filed under: baking, food, stuff. Tags: , .

My 15 Minutes are up… Those Boys

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Morrgan  |  August 15, 2007 at 11:40 am

    Bread isn’t as easy as it looks, I’ve noticed myself. I don’t even dare post photos of mine. 😉 But in the end it’s the taste that counts!

  • 2. janvangogh  |  August 15, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    I am sure that the bread still smelled good baking and tasted good eating.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


