Those Boys

August 24, 2007 at 3:16 pm 3 comments

When we had one child we called him “That Boy.” As in… “That Boy is awake”… (usually said waaay too early in the morning) or “That Boy needs new shoes”.

Now we have two boys. We call them “The Big Boy” and “The Small Boy” (or sometimes “The Little Boy”). They’re pretty easy to tell apart that way. Mind you, we mean them no disrespect. They do have fine names, if I may say so. But sometimes it’s so right to say, “That small boy is biting me again.” The words just sound better coming out of your mouth and we don’t have to worry about name dyslexia… (whoeveryouare, get over here).

Gotta love those boys.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Bread Again QOV Mission Accomplished

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Helen | Pepperina Press  |  August 24, 2007 at 9:59 pm

    Cute pic!

    I’m one of five kids. Childhood memories of my mum going: “He-Ka-Aar-Ju-D… what’s your NAME! Come HERE!”

    So I know what you mean.

  • 2. joeyandaleethea  |  September 3, 2007 at 1:53 pm

    What a great photo!! And I loved this post – tooo funny!!

    In my family my Grandmother is from Honduras and she went to school in Belize – so with her island hispanic accent she would call out to us like this: “whoy-ya-name come here” – which is basically a form of “whatever your name is” – and we turned out ok…for the most part! 😀

  • 3. mktsharetoni  |  September 8, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    You do have the cuttest “boys”. I think calling the boys is perfectly acceptable. In fact I think I usually include John in “your boys”.

    Great shot! too. This shot is going to be among the ones that will come in handy for their weddings and for your granchildren.
    I’m not rushing mind you but, you know what I mean.

    The same thing happens with dogs in our house. Between there being more than one of them and all the names we’ve given them, it’s just too confusing. Unfortuantely, I often say Tommie, Maggie, whoever you are……

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


