Champagne Yeast Bread

October 14, 2007 at 8:17 am 7 comments

I’ve been meaning to make this bread for years. It’s from the Dairy Hollow House Soup and Bread cookbook by Crescent Dragonwagon. It calls for champagne yeast instead of bakers yeast. Intriguing. Since my husband has been making wine for several years I had him pick up some of the yeast when he was getting his supplies.

The “silken-textured dough and an almost cakelike crumb” was just as described. It’s slightly sweet with some oatmeal to keep it interesting. It’s hard to say how much difference the champagne yeast made but it is delicious nonetheless. Half a loaf is gone just between breakfast and lunch today. I made it exactly as the recipe said but I’m suffering ‘white flour guilt’ over it. I’d be arrested by the Whole Grain Police for sure. Maybe that’s why it tastes so good. If I make it again though, I’ll probably substitute some whole wheat flour and maybe more oatmeal.

You may notice from the photo that I have a hard time dividing dough evenly. And I’m really trying which is the sad part. I square up the dough after the first rise and use my dough scraper to cut it in (what I perceive anyway) half. Always, always, I have one big and one small. This is probably the most dramatic example but still. Sigh.

Entry filed under: baking, food. Tags: , , , .

Kalamata Pork Tenderloin with Rosemary Ribbon Quilt Border – a quick tutorial

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Megan  |  October 14, 2007 at 9:26 am

    Mmmm, I love homemade bread!

  • 2. stella  |  October 14, 2007 at 12:03 pm

    It sounds delicious…I just want to eat the picture.

    Are you kneading entirely by hand or using a stand mixer with a dough hook?

    ~Stella

  • 3. ivyarts  |  October 14, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    Hi Megan,
    Wish you could smell it baking too.

    Hi Stella,
    I was a purist in the beginning and kneaded by hand. Very therapeutic. But now, I do give my stand mixer the bulk of the work. The end result is the same more or less.

    Thanks for visiting.
    Peg

  • 4. Cathy (Scrap4U)  |  October 14, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    yum…i love the smell and taste of homemade bread. as a child, my mum and grandmother would get up early once every so often and bake a big batch in a wood fire oven!!!!!! heaven!!!!!!! we used to come home from school and they would have just baked some small breadrolls for us which we would smother with butter…. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

  • 5. Carol Emma  |  October 18, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    What a lovely blog ! Your photos of breads and muffins and cookies are just makin’ my mouth water! I’ll be back for more.

  • 6. reta macgregor  |  May 7, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    I too am just consulting the Soup and bread book. I love it and thanks for the clue , winemakers and beermakers. Who knew? Will give it a try. Thanks Reta

  • 7. Dee  |  September 27, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    How long did it take to proof the champagne yeast VS typical bakers yeast?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


