Ribbon Quilt Border – a quick tutorial

October 16, 2007 at 8:28 pm 18 comments

I had ‘snowing class’ last night and I’m so excited about the border to the courthouse steps quilt! It’s looking great already. I had a lot of strips cut that I didn’t use for the quilt and wanted to use them in the border. But I also needed to change the pattern or scale so that it would stand out from the main blocks. The ribbon border is the perfect solution. Here are some quick instructions.

1. Sew strips and cut into squares. Use as many strips as you like, the more contrast, the more the ‘ribbon’ will stand out.

2. Cut the squares into triangles. They can’t all be cut the same way. Be sure to cut an equal number from corner a to d and from corner b to c (see illustration).

3. Turn the triangles to get ribbon effect (see how the pink forms a “V”). Sew together as you would bias strips (with a little dog ear on both ends). In the last illustration you can see a bit better with the pink and purple forming “V” ribbons.

I’ll update soon with instructions on attaching to the main quilt and figuring out the corners. I know they will turn out to be triangles and that I can add strips to the middle to adjust for the length of the sides. I can’t wait to get this one to the machine quilter! Here’s a sneak peek at the border I’m working on (stray threads, dog ears and all)….

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts. Tags: , , , , , .

Champagne Yeast Bread My First Etsy Treasury (as Curator)

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nora  |  October 17, 2007 at 5:57 pm

    I love the colors so far!

  • 2. Joy LaVon  |  April 11, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    THANK YOU< I LOOKED AND LOOKED and then looked some more til I found ur site with the pattern I WAS looking for THANK YOU !!!

  • 3. Pat  |  February 22, 2013 at 9:46 am

    Would you please email the final directions for this border. I would like to put it on a scrappy quilt that I would like to finish. Thank you I love this idea.

  • 4. Cassandra  |  March 23, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    This is very nice. I want to become more creative and do things different with my quilts. Thanks for sharing the ribbon quilt border steps….I can not wait to try ! !

  • 5. Pam  |  September 19, 2013 at 10:06 pm

    I found this on pinterest when I was wanting a different border for my grandson’s quilt. I love it! I have it cut and on the wall, placed it’s perfect till 4th corner. Now I have sewn the top border, but not sure how to turn corner. Can you please tell me how you did your corners? I would really like some input. Thanks so much! I love your work.

  • 6. Karen Christensen  |  October 7, 2013 at 8:15 pm

    Great idea! I was looking for something different for a block of the month that I am working on!

  • 7. Dee Ann Tackitt  |  June 4, 2014 at 2:30 pm

    How wide are the strips?

  • 8. devineguild  |  June 18, 2014 at 10:15 am

    Reblogged this on devinequiltguild and commented:
    Check out this tutorial.

  • 9. Mary  |  June 19, 2014 at 7:40 am

    WOW what a wonderful idea

  • 10. Swoon Big Block | LumberjackQuilts  |  September 20, 2014 at 6:26 am

    […] is a link to the border tutorial and a closer look at the pattern and quilting.  I hand quilted this one echoing the the star and […]

  • 11. Mollyhall Seeley  |  October 7, 2014 at 10:35 am

    Hi there! I’m Mollyhall, and I’m the editor of FaveQuilts.com. I’m contacting you because I would love to feature this tutorial!

    Each review includes a short description of the project, a byline that credits you, a link to the tutorial on your blog, and a photo of the finished project. We also feature links to projects and accompanying pictures in our free weekly e-mail newsletter. Please let us know if we have permission to feature your projects and photos on FaveQuilts.com and in newsletters. I look forward to hearing from you.

    My site is part of Prime Publishing and we publish 19 cooking and crafting web sites. We have over 3.5 million active e-mail subscribers and about 10 million page views per week. You can learn more about us at http://www.primecp.com.

    Please shoot me an email to let me know if you would like to get started!

  • 12. sue webster  |  February 20, 2015 at 2:47 pm

    Our guild is doing a round robin and this border will be great for my square. Can you please send me the final instructions on how to do the corners?

  • 13. Quilt Template Border Technique - Club Scrap  |  March 18, 2015 at 4:00 am

    […] Turn your paper scraps into an eye-catching border for a scrapbook layout using this easy-to-follow quilting template. […]

  • 14. sugarbaby56  |  July 11, 2015 at 3:19 pm

    Reblogged this on sugarbaby56.

  • 15. Sherr O'Berry  |  January 20, 2016 at 10:00 pm

    I used this for a boarder for a log cabin quilt with my leftover strips. I is stunning. Love it so much I’m going to use it again.

  • 16. Maureen Gildea  |  February 7, 2016 at 11:07 pm

    I would love to know how to do the corners of this border. I have finished the border itself and it looks great! Could you please email me directions on how to do the corners?

  • 17. Pam  |  February 8, 2016 at 12:33 pm

    I would have loved that, too. I ended up just doing it. Nobody knows what it’s supposed to look like, so i let it beand gave it away. They loved it

  • 18. Mercedes Guevara  |  June 2, 2016 at 2:39 pm

    Que bonito me encanta, yo recién estoy aprendiendo y estoy fascinada. Podrías enviarme otras con instrucciones. Muchas gracias y bendiciones.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


