Ribbon Quilt Border, Part II

November 1, 2007 at 11:59 am 3 comments

Hope everyone enjoyed my week of spreading the BuyHandmade.org word and featuring some of my favorite Etsy artists. I’ll continue to feature one or two a week during the holiday buying season. Forget the mall. Shop Etsy! C’mon give it a try. You know you want to.

Back to the ribbon quilt border. This thing is going to make my head explode. It’s simple in theory. It’s quite complex in reality. This is how it’s supposed to go onto the quilt. The angle of the border at each corner should be slanting towards the center of the quilt. Two more triangles get sewn into a larger triangle that gets attached at the corners. Simple, right?

Well the simple factor got lost when I started with an improvised pattern. The courthouse steps pattern was devised based on the scale of the focus fabric. And I made the ribbons based solely on the size of the strips I had left over. What does that mean? My ribbons don’t fit nicely onto the length of the sides. So I have to fudge with some additional strips in the middle to compensate for the length. Add seam allowances, especially on triangles and you can see how the math becomes dizzying. You’re probably best off with a proper pattern that will make all these dimensions come out right for you. But I’m forging on. One side is pinned on and another is in process. Hopefully next week it will be ready for quilting.

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Reason #7 to Buy Handmade – Kim Hambric Art An Original Surprise

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  September 19, 2013 at 11:06 pm

    I’m trying to do this on my new grandson’s quilt. I hardly ever work from a pattern. I find fabric I like and work out from there. I needed a border and started looking found your ribbon border on pinterest and fell in love! Dizzying math for sure. My husband tells me how to do it, but he knows nothing about quilting and is NO help. What did you mean when you said add additional strips in the middle?
    Thank you for your help!
    Grammy Pammy as my grandbabies call me.

  • 2. Pauline Perry  |  June 19, 2014 at 12:45 am

    this is so beautiful – I can’t believe there was only one comment when this was published in 2007! Everyone should have been thrilled to see such a great tutorial. Thanks you for sharing. I am definitely going to do this.

  • 3. Allynda Casterton  |  October 31, 2014 at 10:44 pm

    Yes it is lovely, I’m going to try it also. Wonder why Grammy Pammy never got an answer…could by why there are so few comments yes?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


