Baking Updates

November 11, 2007 at 8:32 pm 3 comments

Champagne Yeast Bread – I made it again with regular yeast and the texture wasn’t the same, not as fine. A very ordinary loaf.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread – I halved the muffin recipe (because I had less than a full 15 oz. of pumpkin to use up) and baked in a loaf pan for 40 min. or so. Still exceptionally yummy. Will make again and again and again and again…

Sourdough Bread – My sourdough starter is still going strong. I make it every week or so. It’s had a few texture changes over these months but it perks up when fed and gives a great sour taste and dense, chewy crumb. I use half King Arthur White Whole Wheat flour for a little added grain.

Fast and Fabulous Buttermilk Bread – A new one I made last week (actually a revisited one from this Crescent Dragonwagon book). I remembered that it wasn’t exactly “fast” but I forgot (and didn’t read ahead) that it has 3 rises plus a rest! Nothing fast about that. A big, airy loaf that makes nice French Toast.

Entry filed under: baking, food. Tags: , , , , , , .

Oops, I did it again Reason #9 to Buy Handmade – A Planet Named Janet

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. chris  |  November 12, 2007 at 11:30 am

    will look up the recipe for the chocolate chip pumpkin bread… when i get to a printer! sounds wonderful. it all sounds great.

  • 2. bonghi vestiti  |  November 13, 2007 at 7:44 am

    I love your blog! I think I’m going to try the pumpkin muffins for Thanksgiving…..I can never fill my boys up…haha…thanks for sharing!

  • 3. Liz  |  November 17, 2007 at 8:50 am

    oh yum! I love reading about baking. Thanks for reminding me to nourish that pesky sourdough starter 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


