Holiday Cookie Challenge

November 25, 2007 at 10:14 am 4 comments

I don’t like to get ahead of myself, after all, Thanksgiving is barely over but I find that I’m already thinking about what kind of cookies to make for Christmas. I usually make 4-6 different kinds to give to family and friends. Last year I skipped cookies and made Earl Grey truffles and Irish Cream fudge because I was short of time.

I have a few parameters that my Christmas treats must adhere to.

1.) Must be able to make ahead. I start about a week or so before and make a batch a night and freeze.

2.) Must be portable and durable for gift giving. Nothing overly decorated or fragile that will look like mush by the time it arrives to it’s recipient.

3.) Must taste as good on day two as day one. I tend to like strong flavors like mint and ginger but they can contaminate other cookies when grouped together on a plate. Two years ago, I put all varieties in individual snack size bags so the flavors remain distinct. I don’t exactly know how to get around it. I may have to continue this practice.

So the challenge is…. give me some recipes! If I make the cookies from your recipe, I’ll send you a dozen of another variety I make. Sound tasty? Leave a link or recipe in the comments and I’ll pick at least one by December 15. You’ll have your cookies by Christmas. Yum! Anyone in?

Entry filed under: baking, food. Tags: .

Reason #10 to Buy Handmade – Morgan Street A Quilter’s Second Best Friend

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jodi  |  November 25, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    Gingerbread Cookies

    1 1/2c margerine
    2 c sugar
    2 eggs
    1/4c molasses
    1/4c Beehive syrup
    4c flour
    2tsp baking soda
    2tsp cinnamon
    1tsp salt

    Combine margerine and sugar. Add eggs, molasses, and Beehive syrup. Add dry ingrediants. Dough can be kept in the fridge up to a week. Rolls nicely when cold or cool. Roll on floured surface. Cutters work best on dough. Bake for 10-15 minutes at 325-350F (depends on thickness of cookie).

    These cookies store very well in the freezer. In fact, they taste fantastic if you sneak some right out of the freezer. They can also be decorated with icing and whatnot for fun.

  • 2. ivyarts  |  November 25, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    Thanks!
    They sound delicious. Also, Jodi was kind enough to enlighten me on Beehive syrup – it’s a name brand of corn syrup. And you can adjust for a soft or crisp cookie with the cooking time.

  • 3. Frances  |  November 25, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    Ginger Nut Cookies
    A recipe from my grandmother

    Ingredients:
    ¾ cup shortening
    1 cup sugar
    1 egg
    4 Tbl molasses
    2 cups flour
    2 tsp baking soda
    1 tsp cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and salt.

    Directions:
    Preheat oven to 350. Cream shortening with sugar. Add egg and molasses. Beat well. Add sifted dry ingredients and mix well. Roll into small balls. Dip in sugar and place on greased cookies sheet, 2” apart. Bake 15 minutes. Recipe can be doubled.

  • 4. Amanda  |  December 17, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    Not too sure if it’s too late, but this recipe from my grandma is to die for (if you like cherries)!

    Cherry Flips

    1 cup butter
    1/2 cup icing sugar
    2 egg yolks
    2 cups flour
    1/4 tsp salt
    1-2 tsp almond extract
    30 cherries, drained (keep juice)

    icing ingredients:
    1 1/2 cups icing sugar
    1/2 cup cherry juice

    Preheat oven to 325F. Cream butter, icing sugar and yolks. Beat well; stir in almond extract. Blend in flour & salt. Pinch off dough in pieces about the size of an egg yolk, and roll into a ball between palms. Flatten, and place a cherry in the centre. Fold the dough over the cherry and roll back into a ball (completely covering the cherry inside the dough). Place on greased baking sheet and bake 25 minutes or until golden. Once cooled, dip only the top of the cherry flips in icing (mix together icing sugar and juice).

    The recipe is handwritten by my grandma (which freaked my mom out too much to make these this year since my grandma passed away last New Year’s Day..), and says to roll in fine coconut after dipping in the icing. But I never remember her actually doing this.. the flips would always only have the lovely pink icing on the tops of these delicious cookies. My mom has also made them with both red and green cherries to make a very festive dessert.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


