Grandmother’s Sweet Biscuits

December 3, 2007 at 3:27 pm 2 comments

(Recipe follows in comment section)

We visited my folks this weekend and I made Sweet Biscuits with my dad. They’re a simple sweet white roll topped with sugar from his mother’s recipe. We both love them and have decided, though they are delicious in and of themselves, we love them so much more because of their tradition. My grandmother was of Swedish descent and used to make them on holidays. Her recipe was vague and it took a few tries for the next generations to get it down. In fact, my aunt, my uncle and my cousin all have slight variations. Some still use shortening (though the original recipe called for “spry”) and some use butter. Some top the roll with plain sugar. My dad prefers to add some cinnamon, my aunt goes for cardamom in true Scandinavian fashion. My dad has tried over the years to make them but he’s a dough novice and suffers beginner’s fear of yeast. (Oh, how I remember those days.) He’s also a very logical guy and doesn’t appreciate the vague measurements of flour and ambiguous descriptions of how dough should look and feel. We even got him a Kitchen Aid mixer last Christmas, hoping it would help with kneading. (I think this past weekend was the first time it was used actually.)

Anyway, I got to show him first hand some how-to’s of bread making and the result was a light, fluffy, sweet delight to eat warm slathered with butter. Yum.

Entry filed under: baking, food. Tags: , .

Handmade Pay it Forward 100% Handmade (so far!)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. clarelittle  |  December 9, 2007 at 10:41 am

    we’d love to have the recipe! They are making me hungry. By the way your blog page is lovely, clean and fresh.

  • 2. ivyarts  |  December 9, 2007 at 11:34 am

    Thanks so much for the compliment.

    The rolls are delicious, I’m sure you’ll enjoy them.

    Sweet Biscuits
    Scald 1 1/2 cups of milk with 1 cup of butter. Cool then add 1 cup of sugar and 1 teaspoon of salt.
    Proof 2 packages of yeast in 1 cup of lukewarm water. Add milk mixture then start with 4 cups of flour (I use King Arthur unbleached white). Add flour to make a smooth dough (another 1-2 cups).
    Raise until doubled. Punch down. Rest for 10 minutes.
    Form into biscuits. Roll in sugar (add cinnamon or cardamom if you like.) Raise again.
    Bake at 350° approx. 15 minutes, until light, golden brown.

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


