Oatmeal breads

December 13, 2007 at 10:42 am 2 comments

I’ve tried a few oatmeal breads lately as a change from the wheat/white that I’ve been making. One was a Buttermilk Oat bread with oat flour and oat bran and then I found an Oatmeal Sourdough roll recipe that I made in a loaf with my sourdough starter. (I was happy to find another recipe to use the starter with. I’ve been feeling slave to the sourdough lately but I refuse to let it die. This one was excellent and not as heavy and chewy as traditional sourdough.)

Anyway, lovely, delicious taste for both of them. Texture turns to crumb after a day. The culprit, I’ve found, is lack of gluten in oat flour but I’m surprised that neither recipe mentions it. In defense of the sourdough recipe, I did substitute a bit of oat flour for the all-purpose. I’m wondering if using bread flour (which has more gluten than all-purpose) will work or if I need to add wheat gluten. Ahh, the beauty of baking is that most mistakes are edible. I will continue experimenting.

Entry filed under: baking, food. Tags: , , .

I know I’m not a rocket scientist, but…. Winter in New England

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Homemadeoriginals  |  December 14, 2007 at 9:28 am

    Here’s a favorite of mine:
    Sweet Oatmeal Bread Breadmaker

    ¾ cup old fashioned rolled oats
    1 ¼ to 1 3/8 cups water
    3 Tablespoons molasses
    1 ½ Tablespoons sugar
    1 teaspoon salt
    3 cups bread flour
    1 ½ teaspoons active dry yeast

    Place all ingredients in bread pan, using the least amount of liquid listed in the recipe. I put the liquid first, followed by dry ingredients and then yeast on top. Select “light” setting. Press START.

    Observe the dough as it kneads. After 5 to 10 minutes, if it appears dry and stiff or if your machine sounds as if it’s straining, add more liquid 1 tablespoon at a time until the dough forms a smooth, pliable ball hat is slightly tacky to the touch.

    After baking cycle ends, remove bread from the pan, place on a cake rack and allow to cool 1 hour before slicing. (We never wait that long!)

  • 2. ivyarts  |  December 14, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    Sounds yummy. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


