Some Lovely Loaves

January 9, 2008 at 1:13 pm 3 comments

I made two loaves of this yummy Honey Wheat Bread two days ago and this is all that’s left. It’s amazingly soft in texture, like sandwich bread when you were a kid, but still whole wheat (actually it’s King Arthur White Whole Wheat flour). I love win-win situations. I think it has to do with using evaporated milk in the recipe. The loaf below is Cheddar Cheese Potato Bread and also uses evaporated milk. It has the same texture, perhaps the potato has something to do with it also. (The recipe for the cheese bread is from an ancient Bon Appétit article that I have copied and saved. If anyone wants it, let me know.) I’ve made bread with scalded milk before but it’s not quite the same.

Entry filed under: baking, food. Tags: , , , .

Blurry Memories I Never Thought I’d Hear

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jill  |  January 9, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Yum! I’m coming over!

  • 2. test7blog  |  January 10, 2008 at 3:31 am

    They look delicious!!

  • 3. Timothy  |  September 22, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    That looks yummy! I would love to have that recipe if you could email it to me. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


