Almost There

January 20, 2008 at 8:40 am 3 comments

I’ve only got 10 blocks to go and this is where I’m at.

I’m still playing and turning the blocks. But the digital method is infinitely better than any manual method I could envision. It’s so much easier to get an overall perspective of what’s going on. (Thanks again Jen.) I can see already that I prefer the “star” pattern in the blocks that have the dark tone-on-tone brown triangles. The “center square” version is not nearly as good. For some reason I keep seeing a pig nose in the center of it. Weird, I know. But once you see something like that, you can never un-see it. You know it’s true.

I once had this Thomas McKnight poster of the Boston Public Gardens. Look in the center between the trees to a fountain with two streams of water shooting up. There’s something dark behind it. Then there’s a dark curve underneath of the base of the fountain. It looks like a monkey face and I will forever see it that way. Ruined a perfectly nice poster for me. It’s stuck in a closet somewhere.

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts. Tags: , , , , , , .

Design Challenge It’s Puzzle Time

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cicada Studio  |  January 20, 2008 at 8:51 am

    I was just thinking yesterday of trying a quilt pattern in photoshop!

  • 2. GrayEyedScorpio  |  January 20, 2008 at 8:54 am

    I see the monkey face! It’s clear as can be.

    Cool technique, digital blocking. I am nowhere near this advanced!

  • 3. Charmaine Manley  |  January 20, 2008 at 8:55 am

    very cool
    obviously I’ve been out of quilting for too long….didn’t know this could be done

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


