Progress Report

February 6, 2008 at 12:05 pm 3 comments

I’ve got some of the blocks sewn together. It’s fun at this stage because all of a sudden the isolated little pieces of fabric that you have been cutting and sewing grow exponentially to become something cohesive and big.

The star is looking great.

Some are looking fairly harmonized…

And some not so much …

This one makes me nervous, but I’m putting my faith in the window panes to bring it all together. Cross your fingers.

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts. Tags: , , , , , , .

A Color Geek’s Dream Job World of White

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cicada Studio  |  February 6, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    This is very interesting to me as I’m designing some fabrics for quilting now and even though I don’t quilt, it’s good to understand the process from the quilter’s end. The word “harmonize” really helps me understand what you mean. How big are these blocks? Is there a standard (like 8″ or 12″ or bigger) panel? Being a graphic artist, I can set up templates and drape the fabrics in and just play and play and play. It’s fun- the idea of using real fabric is very intimidating to me!
    Michelle

  • 2. Jen  |  February 6, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Thanks for the update. It’s coming along nicely. Can’t wait to see more.

  • 3. Melynn  |  February 7, 2008 at 10:44 am

    Beautiful! I had no idea of the thought and planning process behind quilt making. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


