I Am

February 23, 2008 at 9:56 am 3 comments

I saw this first from Kirsty at Two Lime Leaves, then Susannah at Soozadoo. The original (as best as I can track) starts here. Both women are so much more eloquent than myself but for some reason I was drawn to this one. Mine is short, more poem than story.

I am from library books and their interior worlds, craft projects and paint, from Noxema and Coppertone Cape Cod vacations, games of Monopoly and Battleship.

I am from the rough and tumble of only girl with a big sloppy Saint Bernard friend.

I am from the crabapple tree, the willow and fresh mint leaves.

I am from Sunday dinners at Grams, common sense and obligation, from Rosemary and Mildred and Kathleen.

I am from hard work, pride, ethics and silence.

From finish your peas and do your chores.

I’m from everywhere and nowhere, an Anglo-American mutt of Swede and Scot, German and English, and Irish (both kinds ā€“ the wrong ones and the right ones as explained to me by Cyril). I’m from peanut butter and grape jelly sandwiches, sweet biscuits and chocolate dogs, Swedish meatballs and Shake-and-Bake chicken, homemade crabapple jelly and pizza on Fridays.

From the whirlwind courtship of my grandparents ā€“ the first date that was supposed to be with her sister to the fourth time she laid eyes on him in her wedding dress; the too many funerals ā€“ aunts, uncles, cousins gone too soon; laughing so hard that you explode in tears and the other grandfather who made everything hard.

And I am from love, mighty and flawed, priceless and treasured.

Entry filed under: stuff. Tags: , , , , , , .

Happy Anniversary I Love Yoga

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. soozadoo  |  February 23, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    I love these, all of them so different and yet the same. It illustrates the seven degrees of separation so well, we can all identify some part of ourselves in each version.

    My ‘eat your peas’ was in a broad Australian accent.

  • 2. Jenn  |  February 25, 2008 at 7:17 am

    I love that!

  • 3. twolimeleaves  |  February 26, 2008 at 2:04 am

    Gorgeous šŸ˜€
    I’d love to hear more of that intriguing romance between your Grandparents!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


