I Love Yoga

February 27, 2008 at 12:01 pm 4 comments

Once again I discover something that nearly everyone else has tried first, like blogging. I’m always late. And this time I am, in fact, centuries late.

I took my first yoga class when I was four months pregnant with the small boy. I had been interested for years but was paralyzed by my past associations with group classes. Namely, aerobic classes in the late 80s. I was the awkward sweaty girl in the back always a step behind. My idea of yoga being graceful yet serious sort of precluded being the sweaty awkward girl on a yoga mat. I wanted a Yoga for Dummies class where I could learn the poses so as not to embarass myself. Oddly enough, I found it.

A new yoga studio had opened up back then and there was a beginner class. I decided to go for it. The studio was so new that I was the only student in the class my first night. It was fantastic. My teacher was gorgeous, not only physically but in that mind/body/spirit yoga way too, not to mention kind and patient. She gently led my pregnant body through the basics. It was just what I needed. She asked when we were through how I felt.

I said, “I’m not tired.”

She replied, “Well I led you through with easy poses to start.”

“No,” I said, “You don’t understand. I wake up in the morning feeling tired and it lasts until I go to bed at night. I don’t feel tired right now.

It felt amazing. Moving and breathing to get oxygen into all your cells was invigorating. My brain felt clear. I felt loose and comfortable in my body which was a lovely yet alien sensation for me. I fell in love with yoga.

Sadly, I fell out of it after the small boy was born. Difficult schedules, hard to find babysitters, blah, blah, blah. But I just started going again after over a year away. My gorgeous teacher is still there (and still honored the classes I bought two years ago, thank you). I have my very own mat now and I’m in love all over again.

Namaste

Entry filed under: stuff. Tags: , , , .

I Am Assembling the Windows

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. helen (secretlentil)  |  February 27, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    thanks for the sweet reminder.

  • 2. Ingrid  |  February 27, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    nice things …yoga is a good thing

  • 3. melissa@yummygoods  |  February 27, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    Isn’t yoga awesome? thank you so much for your lovely comments on my fabric line! I so appreciate them!

  • 4. Morning Artist  |  March 6, 2008 at 2:00 am

    Congrats on your new found love. I’ve fallen in love with it too and has been actively practicing it for years, even up to my ‘labor day’ when I gave birth to our little man.

    Now, he’s doing it with me.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


