New Scrap Quilt

April 7, 2008 at 11:57 am 8 comments

Like most fabric addicts, I have a hard time throwing away scraps of fabric. It’s almost embarrassing the tiny pieces that I find I need to save. I mean really tiny. If it’s much bigger than a postage stamp, then I’ll consider keeping it. I am pleased to say that the day has come that my neurosis has paid off. I’m making this scrap quilt (inspired by a Flickr photo – I’ll credit it when I get permission) and the center of the small block only needs to be 1.5″ square. It’s another courthouse style, square within a square pattern.

I did this mock-up on the computer to work out the number and size of blocks I’ll be needing for a lap size quilt. The colors are sure to change but it’s good to get a feel for it this way. The effect reminds me of a Klimt painting, more so with actual fabric than what you see below. I’m looking forward to seeing how it will turn out.

P.S. I dropped off the Chez Moi quilt at the machine quilter last week. It should be ready in early May. Can’t wait to see it!

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Language Development Strippy, Scrappy Start

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  April 7, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Wow…if you can get the colors about the same this is going to be stunning. Even if you can’t, the layout is great.

    Reminds me of this quilt:
    Four years, four months

  • 2. Jacquie  |  April 7, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    I have a pattern something like this…haven’t had the courage to tackle it yet because some of the squares are sooooo small. Can’t wait to see yours.

  • 3. ivyarts  |  April 7, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Jen – that quilt is beautiful. I love it and the others she’s made.

    Jacquie – The smallest blocks will be 3″ finished.. pretty small but I’m going for it.

  • 4. Cora  |  April 10, 2008 at 3:04 am

    That quilts is going to be gorgeous. Can’t wait to see it completed.

  • 5. t  |  April 23, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    what kind of computer program do you use to make these awesome layouts? it’s gorgeous…

  • 6. t  |  April 23, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    p.s. what is the pattern name for this quilt? sorry! thanks…

  • 7. embellishingexperiments  |  July 2, 2008 at 8:38 pm

    Wow, that is a wonderful mock-up. Is that with EQ? or what?
    Judi S — I’m glad I found your blog.

  • 8. helen  |  August 21, 2015 at 7:21 pm

    Do you want to share the size of each square?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


