My So-Called Farm Life

July 17, 2008 at 12:40 pm 3 comments

Random musings of a rookie suburban farm missus….

• If you want to be really successful in growing things, plant directly into a compost pile. I bought a tiny two inch potted pumpkin plant for the kids at the store and we put it in a pile of composed leaves and grass behind the barn. It’s a monster now stretching at least 10 feet or more in all directions. And at least a dozen pumpkins that I can see.

• We haven’t had a goose egg in almost two weeks. Thought maybe it was the heat. So no challah, brioche or cheesecake (not that I’ve been in the baking mood in this weather). They’ve also been getting a bit uppity, taken to honking at the neighbors and such. It’s really rude. As it turns out, they’ve been hiding the eggs underneath the neighbor’s deck. My husband dug up about seven last night. No wonder they were honking so furiously… protecting the nest and all.

• I know where the expression ‘nice weather for ducks’ came about rainy days, and it’s not because they like the water. It’s all the bugs and worms that surface after a good storm. Them’s good eats for a duck.

• And I’ve also realized why they call it ‘chicken fights’ when you get on someone’s shoulders and horse around. Chickens fight with their feet and jump up to scuffle with each other.

• And sadly, Peanut Butter (one of the chickens) was lost to the fox last night. We let them roam the yard during the day and put them in the house inside the fenced area at night. Maybe we shouldn’t let them free range but they love it. It was about 7:30 and I would have been putting them to bed shortly when I heard a commotion, not even as loud as the ruckus they make when the neighbor comes home. I could have ignored it but went out and saw the fox had isolated one chicken. I ran after it and the chicken took flight but when I rounded the blueberry bushes, the fox had Peanut Butter in his mouth and was running off. I’m kind of sad. I like the chickens. I guess we’ll have to keep them in for a while, at least until our Fox Relocation program is successful. At least they have a swimming pool.

Entry filed under: stuff. Tags: , , , , , .

Almost a Quilt Top Every kid’s gotta do it, right?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jennifer  |  July 17, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    Thank you for the welcome. I have been feeling so loved with all the visits to my new blog. Thanks for entering my giveaway. Be sure to pass the word along as I’ll be having a new giveaway every week. Check back on Friday to see who won.

  • 2. becca  |  July 17, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    so sorry about pb 😦 – i am soooooo jealous of the chickens- maybe next year.

  • 3. wvfarm2u  |  April 23, 2012 at 7:29 am

    One of our best surprises was a pumpkin, in the compost pile! LOL

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


