Bumbleberry Pie

July 28, 2008 at 8:50 am 4 comments

And I didn’t even know bumbleberries were in season. Actually, a bumbleberry pie is apple, rhubarb, blueberry, strawberry and raspberry. Since I was able to pull two of the fruits from the yard, I thought I’d give it a go. Maybe next time, our everbearing strawberries will cooperate and/or the rabbit will stop eating the ripe ones. It turned out really delicious and a big hit at a family BBQ this weekend.

The only complaint is that the crust was a little tough. I used butter instead of shortening maybe that had something to do with it. The recipe makes two pies and because of the quantity of dough, I did have to work it a bit more than I would have liked. And lastly, I had a helper (the big boy) rolling the dough. It may have gotten a bit overworked there as well. I know this because he chipped my granite rolling pin on the soapstone counter. I’m glad I noticed the granite chip before it got baked in and someone lost a tooth. Ouch.

Entry filed under: baking, food. Tags: , , , , , , .

Quilting Getaway Weekend The Wonderfully, Deliciously Versatile Fruit Crisp

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Magik Quilter  |  July 28, 2008 at 8:59 am

    You almost had me Peg and wow that must be a hearty helper…yowser!

    What proportions of fruit did you use and is there a recipe anywhere for “uswhodonotcook”?

  • 2. jacquie  |  July 28, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    bumbleberry…don’t you just love that name! all those berries and rhubarb too…my kind of pie!

  • 3. Lauri  |  August 3, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    I love to make pie and would like to offer my recipe for crust that always receives high praise –
    In a bowl mix –
    2 c flour – none extra or too dry
    1 tsp salt
    In a measuring cup measure out 1/4 c milk and then right on top measure out 1/2 c vegetable oil for a total of 3/4 c liquid. Important – DO NOT mix milk and oil – but pour all at once into flour/salt mixture and stir w/ a fork till fully mixed. Divide dough for top & bottom & roll out between two pieces of waxed paper. Peel away top sheet, fit into pie pan and then carefully peel away second sheet of paper. Takes practice and patching tears and holes is ok. Roll out top crust, score for steam before covering pie. Peel away paper, trim and crimp edge.
    This crust is good for all pies including savory.
    Enjoy.

  • 4. Judy Neff  |  September 16, 2009 at 11:20 am

    Was browsing my Monastery Greetings magazine and ran across Bumbleberry Preseves. Googled it and found your site. What a delightful combination. I will definitely try to make a “bumbleberry” pie. Guess they get the name from someone that just happened to be “bumbling” around in the kitchen with a bunch of fruits.

    Saw the pie crust recipe contributed and will try that too–thanks for that by-the-way–we could all use a good pie crust.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


