Miss Clairol is no longer my friend

August 18, 2008 at 9:43 am 5 comments

I’ve been going grey since I was in college. I don’t complain because my older brother went completely salt and pepper fairly early and my younger brother inherited our grandfather’s “generous forehead”. Overall, I’m not doing so bad. Over time the strays have also evolved to include a skunk streak at my hairline. So I’ve been coloring my hair fairly regularly for about 20 years.

Last week I took the same dark brown color of Nice & Easy that I’ve used a half a dozen times and applied it for the usual time for my “resistant greys”.

My hair turned jet, coal, raven, midnight black.

“Miss Clairol” on the helpline said my hair was “color saturated” and I should have done the strand test. Humph. I’ve never done the strand test. No one ever does the strand test.

So anyway, I’m not rock’n roll like Stella on “Project Runway” and I’m too old to pull off the whole Goth thing. It was a bit severe for me. But if you can’t beat ’em, join ’em. I cold-called a salon (I haven’t found a new one since the move) and had my unkempt summer ponytail chopped off into an angled bob. I’m channeling my inner Posh Spice now and I kind of like it. I should have cut my hair ages ago. So something good did come of it.

Take that, Miss Clairol.

Entry filed under: stuff. Tags: , , , .

Lowell Quilt Festival Scores Rhubarb Hand Pie

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jacquie  |  August 18, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    change is good. enjoy the new doo!

  • 2. Magik Quilter  |  August 20, 2008 at 10:29 am

    Okay where’s the pic? Enjoy…..should be cooler anyway.

  • 3. shelley  |  September 1, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    miss clairol is no longer my friend either i used the natural darkest brown and my hair is now jet black. i have always dyed my hair brown and am not happy at all with the black i will never buy the product again.

  • 4. knepknop  |  October 21, 2008 at 11:36 am

    Same exact story. I liked to call it sharpy black. Hot line told me it was because I had a cold and was taking antihistimines. Darkest brown with golden highlights was the color name. No more Miss Clairol for me!

  • 5. Sue  |  June 16, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    I found you when I was searching for help after trying Clairol nice and sleazy for the first time over the weekend. I was always a Loreal girl here. Anyway I am now a 50 yr old goth chick and I swear after trying the oops color corrector kit, it is even blacker with lovely blue highlights! I am horrified and embarrassed at work and out in public. I have no clue how to fix it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


