Homemade Peach Salsa

September 7, 2008 at 10:11 pm 2 comments

I’m not sure if I believe him, but my husband says he knew when he met me that someday I’d be “putting up” fruits and vegetables. I’m not sure I knew there’d be mason jars in my future but nonetheless, here I am. He grew up tending gardens and raising animals. I grew up shopping at Shop-Rite. My grandmother made grape and crabapple jelly and that’s all I knew of “putting up” food. (And even the wax seals on her jars sometimes didn’t hold and the jelly became moldy.)

In the first year of my attempts to can anything, I consulted “The Joy of Cooking.” If you have read the first paragraph of the canning section, it recalls the feeling one gets from surveying the rows of jars of your homemade bounty as akin to a “clear conscience or a very becoming hat.” (And not ever being the owner of a ‘very becoming hat’ due in large part to my very large head, I can only imagine how good it feels.) I’m torn between the desire to share the deliciousness from my garden and hoarding it all myself. I mean, after all, it’s a lot of work for those 10 jars of salsa.

In any case, we’ve got peach salsa from the peach trees and the first of the red salsa from the tomato plants. I’m mighty proud. I may even buy myself a hat.

Entry filed under: food. Tags: , , , , .

New Arrivals Impromptu School Bag

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Magik Quilter  |  September 8, 2008 at 9:35 am

    I don’t get the “joy of cooking’s” expressions at all ….good job I never read “joy of sex” or I would be in real trouble! That looks like a lot of work and you obviously fulfilled a fantasy of your husband’s and you did not have to go to that other book either! Whoever said the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach knew what they were talking about allright. Good work Peg!

  • 2. jacquie  |  September 10, 2008 at 9:28 am

    good for you! this looks scrumptious! i’ve never read joy of cooking that closely…”a very becoming hat” hmmmm..could that be the same as wickedly sexy shoes?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


