Sewing Room Makeover

January 5, 2009 at 11:53 am 4 comments

That’s what you do when your baby is in the shop for repairs. It could take up to three weeks… gulp! The repair man was effected by the ice storms before Christmas and has a backlog. So I’m cleaning, planning and cutting.

sewing-room-makeoverI turned the sewing table so that the quilts could have room to move as I’m quilting them. (Notice the new extension table there that’s waiting for a trial run. If you can, after all, it’s clear plastic.) The cutting table is adjacent and the ironing board is right behind. A compact little working space. The shelves in front have current projects, batting and some home dec fabric. I’m pretty pleased with it so far. The test will be when the machine comes back and I give it a good workout.

One of the new projects I’m cutting for is a lap quilt made from a fat quarter pack of Urban Couture by Basic Grey for Moda. Aren’t they gorgeous? More on this one later.

urban-couture-fqs

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts. Tags: , , , , .

It’s Definitely December Urban Couture Quilt Design

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. justdeb2008  |  January 5, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    You should think about having a backup machine. I don’t know what I would do without mine. I dread the day mine will need service.

    You have a very nice clear space for creating. I am trying to get back into my quilting myself. I have my hands in too many media.

  • 2. becca  |  January 5, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    it looks fab!! the fabric does too. nothing like a good clean to get your juices flowing again……….

  • 3. Kate  |  January 8, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    Totally jealous of your space! And the fat quarters!

  • 4. Grandcarr  |  November 7, 2012 at 12:07 am

    Nice space…definitely get a back up machine. I have a brand new back up sewing machine and a new serger. having these prevent hiccups with the back ups!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


