My Dirty Little Quilting Secret

March 10, 2009 at 5:51 pm 6 comments

Before today, I never tied off the quilting threads in my quilts. I just backstitched or overstitched and clipped threads. I suppose the fifteen or so quilts I’ve made over the last six years should be falling apart any day now (minus the ones I’ve had professionally quilted).

Let me explain. I started as a self-taught hacker. Then I took a class but it ended before I finished the quilt. Fast forward several years where I went on my own merry way until I again took another class. Oh, so that’s how you do it.

I finished the dinosaur quilt today complete with tied and hidden knots. I mostly remembered how to do it but I googled “tying off quilting threads” just to be sure. I continue to be amazed at what you can find on YouTube, especially when it turns out to be useful rather than ridiculous. I did a combination of this and this.

I told the big boy that the quilt would be on his bed tonight and he informed me that he doesn’t want a dinosaur quilt, he wants a wild animal quilt. One thing at a time.

finished-dinosaur

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts. Tags: , , , .

You Learn Something New Everyday Almost Spring

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. becca  |  March 10, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    it came out great and I bet he loves it- and last i knew dinosaurs weren’t pets-except on the flinstones -so doesn’t that qualify??? 🙂

  • 2. Sara  |  March 11, 2009 at 7:48 am

    What a great boy’s quilt.
    Um, tying off quilt threads? I’ve never ever done that. In all the quilts I’ve made I’ve never done that. Oh, no!!! Are they all going to fall apart? Should I be worried? Must read more about this…..
    Thanks!

  • 3. Sheila  |  March 11, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    I never tie off threads either, and my daughters trip round the worls quilt is now 14 years old, washed millions of times, and still going strong. Don’t worry! And anyway if they do fall apart you get to make a replacement!

  • 4. Jackie  |  March 16, 2009 at 5:55 am

    I’ve taken 4 classes in the last 5 months….no one mentioned tying off threads. Even in my free motion quilting class.

    The dinosaur quilt is cute!

  • 5. Bonnie Andrachek  |  March 28, 2009 at 10:09 am

    I love this quilt! My 5yr old son loves dinosaurs and we’ve been looking high and low for something to cover his bed. A few weeks ago I came across some awesome dinosaur fabric and some others to go with it. I’m finishing my first quilt so very new to this and love it. Your pattern would work awesome with the fabric I have. Wonder if you would mind sharing your block sizes and such with me. I’d greatly appreciate it. He has a twin size bed. Thank you so much, can’t wait to get started!

  • 6. Glorious Weekend! « Ivy Arts  |  June 1, 2009 at 11:58 am

    […] goodbye to the big boy on Friday, he said I could make him an animal quilt while I was gone. The dinosaur quilt is just not cutting it for him (grr). I admit I pushed the dinosaurs because I just hadn’t […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


