Blooming Nine Patch Complete

April 4, 2009 at 8:03 pm 3 comments

b9guestbed

(I will definitely post a better picture when I can. It’s been cloudy and hard to photograph.)

I picked up the blooming nine patch from the machine quilter last Sunday. So exciting. The pantograph Cathy used is called ‘popcorn’ and it has soft cloudy lines. I really think it brings it all together.

b9quilting

I felt the quilt really needed a blue binding to bring the colors full circle. I settled on the Kaffe Fassett “Wood Ear” fabric for the backing and binding. I used to hate to hand sew the binding but since I learned this cool (and nearly invisible) blind stitch, I find it very relaxing and missed not having it to work on the next day. Maybe I should really learn to knit, it might give me the same effect.

Next up, I’m nearly finished with the Urban Couture top and will begin sashing the completed blocks for my sister-in-law’s quilt.

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts. Tags: , , , , .

An Eye for Animals Spring to Finish

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. becca  |  April 4, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    peg-it’s beautiful!!! i love the green around the outer edge- that was such a good call. just amazing- enjoy it

  • 2. tirane93  |  April 4, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    it looks lovely! very nice piecing and the quilting ties it together nicely.

  • 3. jacquie  |  April 6, 2009 at 12:26 am

    love seeing quilts on beds. this is sooo pretty! beautiful quilting.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


