Bloggers Quilt Festival

April 17, 2009 at 9:04 am 39 comments

Amy at Park City Girl has organized an online quilt festival for all those of us who can’t make it to Quilt Market. I can’t wait to visit all the other bloggers.

b9guestbed

My quilt story is about my latest, the Blooming Nine Patch featuring some Kaffe Fassett fabrics. Cathy, my machine quilter, had done this pattern and I loved how fluid the design looked, especially since it is so geometric (every cut is a square). It was an interesting contrast between linear pattern and flowing effect. I knew I had to try it. I’ve always been a fan of Kaffe Fassett fabrics and they seemed perfect for the color transitions that the pattern makes. I picked my first fabrics at the Lowell Quilt Festival last year.

The entire quilt consists of small nine patches and squares alternately. For a large queen sized quilt, that’s a lot of rote sewing. Fortunately for me, I began the project on my quilting getaway weekend last fall. I cut as many strips as I could before we left and began with lots of time to sew and great company to do it. It totally relieved the tedium of sewing strips and nine patches endlessly. The second benefit was that I was far enough into the quilt to not let it become a UFO when I returned home. I really wanted to see it done.

blooming9_1thru5blooming9_1thru8

The other cool thing about this quilt was seeing how it changed every time I added a new row of color. It’s not exactly what I had envisioned but it’s quite probably better. It was a great learning experience that turned out beautiful. That’s win-win in my book. Thanks for visiting!

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts. Tags: , , .

Scrap Happy Finished Wonky Squares

39 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jacquie  |  April 17, 2009 at 9:18 am

    i love that you chose this quilt….it’s so great to read your thoughts behind it too. have a great weekend and enjoy the festival.

  • 2. Sarah  |  April 17, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Be still my heart, woman! Amazing!

  • 3. Amy Sp  |  April 17, 2009 at 9:22 am

    The rainbow of colors is quite stunning. Excellent Work!

  • 4. Gayla  |  April 17, 2009 at 9:47 am

    beautiful!

  • 5. Anna  |  April 17, 2009 at 10:29 am

    Everytime I have looked at this quilt on flickr, I just sigh out of happiness. It is so, so, so beautiful. I love it. I’ve recently started collecting Kaffe Fasset fabrics after being inspired by quilts such as yours. The colors are so vibrant.

  • 6. rachel  |  April 17, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    wow.
    great, great quilt.

  • 7. Doris  |  April 17, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    LOVELY! You are so right, how each row totally chages the entire design!

  • 8. Mags  |  April 17, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    I’ve always liked this quilt but I’m a control freak and I wouldn’t be able just let go and see what happens.

    Congrats for not being a control freak like me!

  • 9. Jocelyn  |  April 17, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Absolutely beautiful quilt!

  • 10. Zonnah  |  April 17, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    This is so beautiful!

  • 11. Melody  |  April 17, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Very nice color placement. Thanks for sharing.

  • 12. Andi  |  April 17, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Stunning quilt.
    I can see why its your favourite

  • 13. amylouwho  |  April 17, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    I love this! It’s so bright and fun! I would need good company too for sewing all those little squares together – but the end result would be worth it!

  • 14. kangaroo  |  April 18, 2009 at 6:03 am

    how pretty! i love your use of the kaffe fassets… it’s perfect for this pattern. very nice.

  • 15. Debra  |  April 18, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    I love the color combo and how nicely they blend into each other. Beautifully done!

  • 16. Penny G  |  April 18, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    Isn’t it great how things happily surprise us by being better than we expected? It is a beautiful quilt.

  • 17. Amy @ parkcitygirl  |  April 18, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Beautiful quilt! I love the vibrancy of the colors and subtle transitions – great work!

  • 18. Bethany  |  April 18, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    Wow..love the way the colors interplay with each other. Fabulous quilt.

  • 19. The quilt rat  |  April 18, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Great quilt, hope you are enjoying the festival

  • 20. Jackie  |  April 19, 2009 at 7:46 am

    This quilt is absolutely fantastic!! I just love it and am also a fan of Kaffe fabrics. Wonderful use of them!

  • 21. anonymousinalabama  |  April 19, 2009 at 9:16 am

    I would love to know how you quilted it. I have a queen-sized black and white blooming nine patch top that I made and I’m struggling to think of how to quilt it.

    I love the colors in yours!

  • 22. Anne  |  April 19, 2009 at 9:17 am

    I messed up leaving the comment above. I was curious what the quilting design looks like?

    Thanks!

  • 23. Kari  |  April 19, 2009 at 10:56 am

    What a happy quilt!

  • 24. Cathy McMann  |  April 19, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Your quilt is awesome! I’ve always wanted to make a Blooming Nine Patch, I need to get started.

  • 25. coloradolady  |  April 19, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    This is stunning! I really love the colors. I can only imagine the time and energy that went into making such a wonderful quilt.

  • 26. Ariane  |  April 19, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    Wow!! I love it. It’s an amazing quilt.

  • 27. Adria  |  April 19, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    so freakin cool! you are awesome!

  • 28. Diane  |  April 19, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    Great fabrics — I love Kaffe Fassett, too! Thanks for your comment on my blog — I appreciate it!

    Diane

  • 29. 2hippos  |  April 20, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    The blooming 9-patch looks great. It’s on my list of quilts to make.

  • 30. Stephanie  |  April 21, 2009 at 7:05 am

    How pretty! I don’t think I’ve ever seen that pattern before, but might just have to try it.
    Thanks for sharing!

  • 31. Lemon Tree Tami  |  April 21, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    This has so many gorgeous colors in it. Beautiful!! I agree, Kaffe Fassett fabrics are simply divine and perfect for color saturated designs such as this quilt.

  • 32. mandy  |  April 22, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Ooh your quilt looks so beautiful there on the bed. Those colours just flow so magically. Such a lovely quilt…………….

  • 33. Anya  |  April 23, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Very pretty and cheery!

  • 34. Robin  |  April 23, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    I love Bloomin’ Nine Patch quilts. Yours is no exception– absolutely stunning with those Kaffe Fassett fabrics. Wow!!!!

  • 35. Susan Burton  |  April 25, 2009 at 12:18 am

    You have outdone yourself on this one! The colors just dance! I just love it!!

  • 36. Sandi  |  April 25, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Love your quilt. Your colors are so exciting

  • 37. Marilyn  |  April 30, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    I love your Bloomin’ Nine Patch. I have the book and I’m collecting fabrics. I’ve got to finish up other projects first. đŸ˜¦

  • 38. Whirlwind! « Ivy Arts  |  September 24, 2009 at 7:36 am

    […] be showing the Blooming Nine Patch and Scrappy Squares quilt in my guild show and I’m working frantically to finish my challenge […]

  • 39. Mel  |  October 11, 2009 at 8:28 am

    Very interesting to see how this quilt unfolded. Lovely ending! Thank-you for sharing

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


