Finished Wonky Squares

April 23, 2009 at 8:24 am 7 comments

Thanks to all who visited and commented from the Bloggers Quilt Festival. It’s been such a blast. I’m still working my way through the hundreds of entries. Thanks for sharing.
marystop2

I finished the quilt top for my sister in law and dropped it off at the machine quilter this week. Since I won’t get it back for a few weeks, I technically won’t be able to count this towards Spring to Finish. Drat. But I do have the Urban Couture quilt basted and ready to quilt. I’m going to give my first try to free motion quilting. Yikes! So I have to practice (lots!) and quilt a 60 x 60 in one week. That’s not too much to handle, right?

Perhaps I shouldn’t be so confident since I, once again, made a hugely stupid blunder on this quilt back, which is gorgeous by the way. I got a lousy photo on a rainy day but will post when it is completed. Alas, I’ve shared my share of quilting mistakes here but I’m just embarrased by this one. If you leave a comment, I’ll email you the story. It’s a wonder they let me play with scissors, let alone a rotary cutter.

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts. Tags: , , , , , .

Bloggers Quilt Festival Scrap-tastic

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christa  |  April 23, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    Well, NOW you have me curious! I have made more than my share of mistakes, stupid and otherwise… but we learn from ours- and others’ mistakes- so this is a learning experience! I don’t even know what it is, but I am guessing you likely won’t do it again! LOL The quilt is beautiful, by the way.

  • 2. becca  |  April 23, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    when don’t we have a blunder somewhere along the way???? the quilt is beautiful!!!

  • 3. craftthefinalfrontier  |  April 24, 2009 at 3:54 am

    That is a fabulous looking quilt top!

    Sue

  • 4. jacquie  |  April 24, 2009 at 7:28 am

    oh peg, this is beautiful! what in the world did you do?

  • 5. metrosupialdesigns  |  April 28, 2009 at 10:04 am

    Love the colors and the quilt in the first post is coming along nicely. I always try to do a scrap quilt, but always end up digging into my stash.

  • […] Peggy has very different taste than I do.  She likes the style of fabric by Free Spirit and Amy Butler.   That stuff reminds me to much of the 70’s style.  I just can’t get into the coloring of those fabrics.  But Peggy likes them.   That is all that matters. […]

  • 7. Lee-Anne Gilbert  |  June 12, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    God… I love this!! It’s very similar to my blue squares quilt I’ve just finished… Nice stuff!! Lx

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


