Spring to Finish – finish

April 30, 2009 at 1:50 pm 7 comments

gmwquiltfront

gmwquiltback

I’ve got one done. The Moda Urban Couture quilt I designed that I’m calling “Going My Way”. As mentioned in my last post, my first freemotion quilting was anything but a success. And yes, luckily for me, the crinkles after washing do hide a lot.

ucfinalfolded

ucquilting

This will live on a well used couch and I’m sure after a few chocolate milk spills, all will be fine.

If you are the first to find my Amish mistake in this quilt top, I’ll send you a fun fat quarter and some other goodies. Leave me a comment.

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Scrap-tastic Something from Nothing

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shelly  |  April 30, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    Beautiful! I just made my sister a diaper bag out this fabric!

    I am not sure what an Amish mistake is, but I know that the middle block on the right hand side is different…spotted that right off for some reason!

    Anyways…great job! I love it!

  • 2. ivyarts  |  April 30, 2009 at 2:13 pm

    Well, that didn’t take long. You found it Shelley. The yellow and blue triangles in the blocks should turn north, east, south and west. I’ve got two blue triangles nose to nose in that one and the yellows facing north. I didn’t see it until the top was complete. Oh well.

  • 3. Amy @ parkcitygirl  |  April 30, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    First – I love how a simple hst with careful color selection can make the most intriguing design! and second – I love that fabric collection 🙂 Great finish!!!

  • 4. becca  |  May 1, 2009 at 4:46 am

    it came out great!! i love it- and the backing is terrific!!

  • 5. Patricia  |  May 1, 2009 at 9:38 am

    It took me a while to find the mistake. its hardly noticeable. but yeah the purple pinwheel is wrong. I wouldn’t worry about it though cause I would have never noticed it had I not stared at it for a bit.
    Nice job!

  • 6. New Blocks and Scrappy Progress « Ivy Arts  |  May 15, 2009 at 11:56 am

    […] will be another lap quilt, a variation on the Going my Way that I just finished. More Tina Givens love in the fabric choices. I’m giving this to a […]

  • 7. Pattern Development « Ivy Arts  |  May 21, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    […] quilt top is done with a variation on my last quilt. I decided against the assymetrical strips surrounding the block for some straight sashing. […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


