Three Signs of Spring

May 27, 2009 at 1:16 pm 1 comment

Sign Number 1 – May Spring to Finish, a lap quilt I’m calling Purple Fancy. It uses some of my gorgeous Tina Givens fabrics and my first go at solids. I’ve resisted solids despite the urging of friends because they’re just not as much fun to buy as the prints. But I must admit they do something really nice and will try to temper my bias in the future. This also marks my second go at free-motion quilting. It’s a bit better than the last time but far from good. I have a tension problem either in the machine or in my motion.

The other thing I learned on this quilt is that using batiks for binding and backing makes for some tough hand sewing. The weave of the fabric is so tight that I’ve snapped two needles sewing the binding. It’s hard to find one small and sharp enough that still has an eye I can thread. Note to self: Avoid batik bindings.

purplefancy

purplefancyclose

Sign Number 2 – The first rose opened up. Pink and orange is a great color combination, isn’t it?

firstrose

Sign Number 3 – Our sultan bantam chick is starting to sprout her feathers. How fabulous is she … pompadour, feathery feet and all?

quattro2

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts, stuff. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Pattern Development Glorious Weekend!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Glorious Weekend! « Ivy Arts  |  June 1, 2009 at 11:58 am

    […] Spring to Finish 2 finishes are the Purple Fancy, the scrap quilt and a block exchange. My sister-in-law’s quilt is ready at the machine […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


