My 200th Post!

June 6, 2009 at 9:34 am 4 comments

(Congratulations to Cynthia, winner of the FQ Giveaway!)

Doesn’t that just cry out for a giveaway? Leave a comment and I’ll enter you in a drawing for a mystery fat quarter pack… 4 FQs from my stash. Winner will be picked on Tuesday, June 9th after I get home from my quilt guild meeting.

I got a nice email from Liza at Quiltifications about my scrap quilt. She likes it so much that she’s going to make one in all black and whites. I think it will look fabulous. I’m collecting black and whites right now and haven’t decided what to do with them. This is definitely something to watch. And while I’m talking about inspirations, I should give credit to the quilt that inspired me. You can see it here.

My next scrap quilt is inspired by my friend Becca. (She’s just getting her blog, Six Wainwright, up and running so you can see it here on Flickr.) Her scrappy log cabins are made with 1″ strips. (That is not a misprint – one inch strips). It’s gorgeous the way she sashed it with white and makes everything pop. She started a scrap bag for me of 1″ strips and now I have a pile going for her whenever I’m cutting some fabric. It’s a sickness really. Neither of us can bear to part with even the smallest scraps.

And about those inspiring 1″ strips… my non-quilting sister-in-law accompanied us on our quilter’s retreat to get some getaway girl time. Somewhere around Saturday afternoon, her questions definitely went beyond polite curiosity. The clincher was the Hello Kitty sewing machine that Rhonda always has in her car. It’s made by Janome and is a great, affordable little machine. So my sister-in-law sat down with Hello Kitty and our bags of 1″ scraps and came home with a pillow cover and possibly a new addiction. She sent me this picture today of her own new Hello Kitty with the pillow cover she made over the weekend.

hellohellokitty

Isn’t that awesome?

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts, stuff. Tags: , , , , , .

Glorious Weekend! A Quilt Finds a Happy Home

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. 2hippos  |  June 6, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Lured a new additct, eh? Nice work! And please enter me in the giveaway!

  • 2. Peggie  |  June 6, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    What a fantastic job for a newbie!
    Please add my name to the drawing and congratulations!

  • 3. Maddy  |  June 7, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    I’ve just found your blog via twolimeleaves and I’m glad I did. Hope you weekend went well.

  • 4. Cynthia  |  June 9, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    I love your sewing machine, very vintage looking!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


