Sewing Machine Meme

June 16, 2009 at 8:33 pm 2 comments

It’s Sewing Machine month at the Sew, Mama, Sew blog and they’ve introduced a sewing machine meme. Here’s mine.

elna

What brand and model do you have?

Elna 2003

How long have you had it?

6-7 years

How much does that machine cost (approximately)?

$275

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)?

Quilting mostly, some bags and pillows, an occasional potholder.

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get?

I wish it was daily but usually 3-4 days a week I’m able to get in some time.

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name?

I like my machine well enough but not enough to give her a name.

What features does your machine have that work well for you?

Easy, straight sewing.

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine?

Tension problems.

Do you have a great story to share about your machine (i.e., Found it under the Christmas tree? Dropped it on the kitchen floor? Sewed your fingernail to your zipper?, Got it from your Great Grandma?, etc.!)? We want to hear it!

Actually, I did find mine under the Christmas tree. I had sewn a few baby quilts on my mother-in-law’s borrowed sewing machine. I wouldn’t say I was hooked yet but my husband thought to get me a good starter machine to see if I’d like it. The rest is history. (Can I blame my fabric addiction on him?)

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why?

If you’re looking for a well-made, decent starter machine, this is a good one. I’d like a few more features now that I’ve been sewing for a while.

What factors do you think are important to consider when looking for a new machine?

Now I’m looking for a drop-in bobbin, needle stop down feature and a long bed for machine quilting.

Do you have a dream machine?

I dare not dream just yet. It will just make me sad that I don’t have it yet. When it looks possible, I’ll start looking at Janome and Bernina.

And let me introduce you to my new iron. Luckily for me I found a forgotten Joann’s gift card in my wallet just as my ancient (college-era) iron no longer produced steam.

newrowenta

Now get me into the sewing room, for goodness sakes.

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts. Tags: , , , , .

Quick Quilt-along post for a busy weekend Truer Words Were Never Spoken

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Julie  |  August 11, 2009 at 2:26 am

    I have an Elna 2003, have hardly used it because the tension problems drive me mad.It rarely tensions properly. My old Elna Contessa ( had it for 20yrs) was perfect. Any solutions or do I throw it out and get a new machine. My sewing pile is growing and its easier to sew by hand than use this machine.

  • 2. Meet Lily « Ivy Arts  |  February 1, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    […] way more machine that I was looking for but the price was way more than right. It was a steal. My Elna was giving me tension problems (as usual) and it didn’t make sense to put more money into […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


