New Scrap Filing System

July 1, 2009 at 12:15 pm 5 comments

newscrapsystem

I went through all the scraps last night and did some sorting. I’m hoping it will make for easier scrap use. I’m in love with scraps right now. I’m even reluctant to cut into my real stash. But I found if I just cut one strip off, then I have a new scrap to use. Is that cheating? Some bit of it would be a scrap eventually, right?

Top Left – Pieced scraps

Top Middle – Squares and odd shapes

Top Left – Large pieces but less than a fat quarter

Bottom Left – Strips in warm colors (reds, oranges, yellows, browns and the like)

Bottom Right – Strips in cool colors (blues, greens and purples)

And I also have a bag that has only 1″ scraps to make these blocks.

1inblocks

I’m torn between the monochromatics and the random blocks. I’m not sure if I have one or two quilts going. In any case, these sashed in white will look amazing. See this one.

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts. Tags: , , , .

Old Red Barn Co. Quilt Along Tops Who’s the Fairest of them all?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christine  |  July 2, 2009 at 7:43 am

    Hi Peg,

    I have been making bags (more pictures to come on Facebook) and I have started cutting a strip off every piece that I cut, especially with the selvedge info so I can make a scrappy quilt one day.

    Christine

  • 2. jacquie  |  July 2, 2009 at 9:41 am

    love your system! now that my scraps are organized…they are so much easier to use. love your blocks…i really like the combo!

  • 3. becca  |  July 3, 2009 at 4:59 am

    nice system you have going there- isn’t it so much easier!!!! love your 2 quilts- you know it will be two right??? 🙂

  • 4. Allison  |  July 4, 2009 at 7:48 am

    wow I need to do that. And I love those log cabins, they always take me forever but I love everyone else’s! Thanks for stopping by! -Allison

  • 5. Leslie  |  July 4, 2009 at 7:55 am

    that is an amazing system..and your scrap blocks are fantastic!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


