Whirlwind!

September 24, 2009 at 7:36 am 3 comments

Two new work schedules, two new school schedules (and the accompanying struggles and trauma), one quilt guild show and one gallery opening. It will all slow down by the first weekend in October but it’s been c-r-a-z-y.

I’ll be showing the Blooming Nine Patch and Scrappy Squares quilt in my guild show and I’m working frantically to finish my challenge quilt. The theme this time was to illustrate an idiom (i.e. tying the knot, time flies). My choice was to illustrate “It’s a Piece of Cake”. I’m not going to post a progress picture but I’ll give you a hint…. look at my blog header and notice the second picture from the left. ‘Nuf said.

I got the “mini quilt” bug by participating in the Good Ol’ Summertime Mini Quilt Swap. I’ve been wanting to try art quilts for a long time. There’s one I’ve been envisioning for years now. It’s really fun to see what you can do with your stash this way. It reminds me of the painting I used to do except this time my medium is fabric. I finished a mini art quilt to hang in the gallery space that I’ve been helping to redesign and renovate. Here’s the quilt I call “Still Life with Arm Chair”. I can’t wait until after the show is over so I can start on another one.

stilllifewitharmchair

Entry filed under: fabric, quilting, quilts. Tags: , , , , .

What’s Happening? It’s A Piece of Cake

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. becca  |  September 24, 2009 at 7:00 pm

    Wow!!! it’s amazing! the plant and he pillow are incredible-they just pop!!

  • 2. jacquie  |  September 27, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    makes me tired just reading about all you are doing! i love this piece…the chair and the pillow…so cozy and inviting.

  • 3. Susan B.  |  September 28, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    For anyone who has not seen this piece in person, well, the picture doesn’t do it justice! I am so looking forward to more!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


