A Pox on Thee!

April 7, 2010 at 9:46 am 4 comments

And by thee, I mean me and by a pox, I mean the dormant evil spawn of chicken pox – shingles. When reawakened, the  virus erupts in crazy painful inflammation of nerves. That has been my world for the past eleven days. I thought I had pinched a nerve in my shoulder to start and after a few days, a visit to the chiropractor and my primary care, shingles was diagnosed. Good grief.

I’m irritated at the word “shingles”. It sounds so innocous and it so isn’t. I mean, who names these things? I would have named it Gratingly Irritating Fiery Constant Annoying Pain, GRIFCAP for short. So much more accurate.

I still can’t sew. (Curse you, GRIFCAP!!) But it’s slowly improving. In the meantime, here are some crazy blocks I made before I was stricken to compliment the Stash Busting Bee blocks I’ve been receiving using the Arcadia line.

And some signs of spring outside…

Hopefully I’ll be back to normal soon. Until then, Happy Spring!

Entry filed under: stuff. Tags: , , .

Smile when I’m sleeping Is it May already?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Liz  |  April 7, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Ugh, Peg, that’s awful! I hope you feel better soon. Three cheers for Spring!

  • 2. Toni Furino  |  April 23, 2010 at 4:39 pm

    Oh Peg! Girldfirend!! I hope you’re back to whole really soon. The first year we lived in Maine, I got what they said was Fifth’s Disease. Apparently, it is a fairly common childhood disease; BUT adults can have it. Fifth’s refers to the fifth childhood disease; measles, mumps, chicken pox, (don’t remember), and the Fifth’s Disease. Unfortunately for me it presents differntly in adults than in children. I had a fever, relentless aches, and swollen joints. It took about 6 weeks for it to finally go away. I just can’t even begin to imagine how I would have been able to take care of children too. Your amazingness never ceases to amaze me my friend. Take Care.

  • 3. American Quilter's Society  |  April 30, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    We hope you are feeling better, but you had us laughing reading about GRIFCAP! Thank you for sharing your lovely blog, we look forward to seeing more from you in the future.

    http://www.aqsquiltnews.blogspot.com

  • 4. Susan Burton  |  June 26, 2010 at 12:02 am

    Oh Peg, I love the fabric combinations above! Where did they go,or shall I say, what was made?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi. This is my blog about fabric, food, family and fancy. Welcome. I'd love to hear from you. Peg

Shop our Etsy Store!

Favorite Sew Fresh on Facebook

Quilting Bloggers Festival



Email Me

blog (at) ivyarts (dot) com

The Modern Quilt Guild

The Modern Quilt Guild

Stash Busting Bee

Nothing But Scraps

Improv for Charity

Visit other Quilting Bloggers

Quilting Bloggers Logo

More Sewing Blogs

Buy Handmade!

Categories

Feeds

Subscribe with Bloglines


